The Frog Blog

J.R. Sparlin discusses things

Saturday, November 15, 2014

Thanks Again to the Kansas SCBWI!

In 2012, I was thrilled to be the inaugural recipient of the Clare Vanderpool Work of Promise Scholarship. It was awarded by the Kansas chapter of the Society of Children's Books Writers and Illustrators, and gives the lucky winner the chance to go for free to the annual KS SCBWI conference in Kansas City. This award was established in honor of Newbery Award winner Clare Vanderpool (a Kansas resident).

Sadly, that year a terrible family emergency kept me at home. But they very kindly asked me back last year, when to my embarrassment I had already made a commitment for the weekend. And then, also very kindly, asked me back again this year . . . so here I am, finally, with the 2013 and 2014 winners!

Thanks again to Clare Vanderpool, Colleen Ryckert Cook, Sue Gallion, Theresa Love, and all the KS SCBWI!